Becoming Happier
Sunday, August 25, 2013
Gratitude for Friends
Today, before nap time, I went through all of G's clothes, pulling out the clothes that didn't fit him any more (or close to not fitting any more) and replacing them with the clothes from the new bin we'd just received. Last year, the same friends had given us a bin packed full of 2T clothes. We had also received clothes from other friends who were cleaning out their own boys' clothes. As I was packing away all of the clothes sizes 18 months to 2T, I was humbled. I packed away two bins, packed to the brim with clothes! And there are still some clothes yet to be laundered and packed away, too! This is to add to the 3 bins full of clothes from newborn to 18 months already in the attic! But here's the thing about the large 18 month clothes through the 2T clothes: we probably purchased fewer than 10 total pieces of clothing for G during that time. The rest had been given to us by generous friends and family.
And today, putting the new 3T clothes into his drawers, I was humbled by the fact we likely won't need to buy clothes for him again. His drawers are packed solid with tops, pants, shorts, pajamas, and his closet is full of coats, dress shirts, jackets, and sweatshirts.
I am so grateful for such a generous blessing for our family!
Monday, August 19, 2013
Restarting - ground zero
This challenge feels a little like one step forward, two steps back. I've slipped back into yelling; I'm back where I started. I honestly haven't been making a very concerted effort. I haven't been tracking anything, and now I'm not even making it 2 hours into my day without raising my voice, losing my cool, yelling... Am I that tightly wound right now? Life is very full of stress; I know that continues to make it a bit more difficult to keep calm, but in the past few weeks, I even stopped trying altogether.
Here's something I'm realizing: perhaps I need to slowly work my way up to the point where even 24 hours feels more in my reach. When I realize I've lost my cool unnecessarily, I try not to just give up on the rest of the day, but a part of me figures if I can't count the whole day, then why bother? I don't think I had a true idea of what this challenge was going to entail.
A few weeks ago, when I was really trying to keep my snappish self from emerging every few minutes, I was feeling better about myself. I was seeing progress! And I felt like it had prepared me better for dealing with struggles. Then a few things happened that took my focus off of the challenge, and, without the focus, I lost that initial momentum.
So, though life is still not as peachy as I would like it to be, I need this challenge. My family needs this challenge. My husband and I were getting upset at each other in front of our son, right at bedtime, which ended in me yelling, and it was making our son sad and scared. For all of the other crap we are dealing with right now, having a contentious atmosphere does nothing to help. I have much to do with that atmosphere.
Time to try again.
Monday, July 22, 2013
Week 3
I'm still working on getting two consecutive days of not yelling in a row under my belt. While I was discouraged about a week ago, I'm actually feeling a bit encouraged. I know I can at least make it a full day and a half without yelling. Compared to what was going on a few weeks ago, that's progress. And, honestly, my day 2 flops are less about getting frustrated with my son and more about me being stressed about something or other - dinner being unplanned, forgetting to have done something or to have gotten something while I was out earlier, etc. I also know that there are hormonal influences that can make it more difficult to not yell, but, as both Orange Rhino and my husband have pointed out before, if I can still be friendly on the phone to someone or even civil to a passing stranger, then I have no reason to treat those closest to me poorly and blame it on PMS.
Noticing Changes
Even though I am still working on a full 48 hours of not yelling, I'm not giving up on managing 365 days of not yelling. Here's why: I've noticed that as I work on not yelling, my son has toned down his screeching. I mentioned this to my husband and he commented that in his observation, the screeching was in response to my yelling. For example, G wouldn't eat, I'd immediately run to the worst case scenario and get worked up about him not eating, which would make my tone become sharper, and G would get riled up and screech out of anger and frustration. Now, when G screeches, I am working on staying calm, trying to let him know I understand his emotions, and then walk away and leave him alone for a little bit. The other day, at a playdate, G was super tired and hungry, but he was too involved in playing for him to want to leave. Suddenly, in the middle of the wading pool we were playing at, he started to screech because another little boy had taken the car he'd been playing with earlier (and for the record, G hadn't been playing with it for awhile). I simply called his name, at which he screeched again. On the third screech, I went to get him, held him close and said, "I know you're angry that he took your car. How about we let him play with it a little bit, while we get ready to go home? Are you done playing?" He suddenly calmed down and said, "Yeah." I got him in the stroller, we got the toys back, and he was fine on the way home. I was surprised at how calmly I reacted and how quickly he relaxed after I told him that I understood his frustration and offered a suggestion to cope. I hope I can do more of that!
I've noticed, too, that as I work on not yelling, I'm needing to work on evaluating a situation before I react to it. Not yelling is one thing, but I've started to count a day over if I over-react and snap at either G or my husband, too. Yes, this adds to the difficulty in making it 48 hours without yelling or overreacting, but I'm feeling it's just as important to notice when I'm being snappy and saying rude or unkind things as it is to notice how much I'm yelling at my family. This is mainly geared towards my husband. He deserves better from me than me saying something to him that sounds condescending, rude, snappish, etc.
So, today is another one of my Day 1's. I barely squeezed through it (I didn't yell, but I made a comment to my husband that was verging on inappropriately rude). But, honestly, I still feel like I'm making progress. Here's to another Day 2!
Sunday, July 14, 2013
Day 1 -- did I actually make it?
I made it ONE FULL DAY!!!! I know I did this before, but after over a week of restarting because I was losing it every day, it feels good to have made it one full day without full-blown yelling.
A few observations:
1. I got to bed before midnight. G was in bed at 10pm - far too late for him, but we also were dealing with the eating thing. He finally had a full 12 oz of chocolate milk and a couple of graham crackers before bed, which let him sleep, though he also got a full sudden burst of energy thanks to the food in his system. We suddenly had a happy, energetic little toddler again! Unfortunately, it was 9:30pm when he got food and energy back. He woke at 8:30am this morning, far under the usual 12 hours he sleeps per night, and was tired by 9:30am, but he didn't nap and we got him to bed at 8:30pm tonight, after eating a third of a quesadilla with cheese and roast beef, having more milk and graham crackers. He still didn't eat terrifically well (more on that in a moment), and I was up at 5:30am and had a hard time getting back to sleep, but knowing I'd slept at least 6 hours instead of 3 or 4 made a huge difference.
2. I started my day letting G just play upstairs while I was working on breakfast in the kitchen. Normally, I would have been trying to immediately get G to eat, or keep him down with me and let my husband sleep in a bit longer, but we were all needing to get up and get ready for church, so I figured letting G play up there and get snuggles in with dad were just fine while I worked in the kitchen for a bit. It made for a less stressful morning.
3. G ate most of a pancake this morning and had some apple juice with it. Even though there were a few shouts during breakfast, I was able to calmly help him calmly ask for whatever it was he was wanting, and I was able to make it more positive than snapping back at him.
4. I was chatting with a friend about G's sudden not eating, and she commented that her little girl will sometimes go a few days not eating much at all, then suddenly eat everything in sight, and then repeat the cycle. She said she decided not to fight it, trusting her daughter to eat when she was hungry enough. Another friend mentioned the same thing as I was talking about G's not eating. The second friend has a few children, so she has a lot more experience, and she said she just let her children eat when they would eat, because they also would go through phases where they just didn't want to eat much at all. I told the first friend I had been choosing to fight it, which ultimately had been resulting in unhappiness, especially with me jumping to conclusions about things that hadn't happened yet. As I said it, I started to realize how ridiculous it was for me to be fighting something that was just normal. The pediatrician who was a God-send when G turned one (a fill-in for our regular pediatrician who was on leave at the time) had said that children are very good at not dying and not starving. Some days, especially as toddlers, they eat like birds, and other days they eat like ravenous beasts, but their bodies are in flux and some days, they need more food than others. So, this evening, I tried letting it go, and letting G just eat when he wanted to eat and eat what he wanted to eat. I realized if he wakes in the middle of the night starving, I can make him a sandwich, and we'll get back in bed, and it will all be fine because we've survived it all many, many times before.
5. G still screeched plenty, but I was able to more calmly think about the fact that, being a few months from 3, he might be going through that emotional growing stage that is getting to be known as the Emotional 3's. I told my husband that friends had said, "You hear plenty about the Terrible Two's, but nobody tells you about the Emotional Three's!" Husband replied, "Well, somebody apparently told YOU about it." My reply back, "Word's getting around!" It totally diffused the stress from hearing Screech as I was getting him in bed for a nap.
6. I need to let go of my stress more, and let myself be loved. My instant reaction to stress is to clam up, lash out, retract from help, and even scorn the help that might be offered to me. Sounds great, right? Asking my husband for help today, going to him to talk about my being tired with G's screeching, letting him give me a hug and encourage me...it was much better than the alternative which I've been going with the past week. I keep acting like I'm in this alone. I didn't grow up with a good role model for how to work with a spouse; I'm still learning how to ask for help, and how to accept help that is offered without biting the hand offering it and taking the offer as an insult to my ability (or inability) to handle things. Learning that it's okay to admit that I'm not perfect and that I do need help is taking a lot of time, but I hope that I get better at it as I continue with this challenge.
Speaking about the challenge: I'm still working on the technical aspects of the challenge. My husband did comment that though I'd been having a tough time, he had been seeing progress in me. Even though I was feeling really down yesterday, and feeling like I just hadn't been able to make even a miniscule iota of progress, he said he HAD seen some progress. I know this isn't going to happen overnight, but I need to give myself credit for continuing to try.
And hey, I made it! Time to get ready for bed so I can have a shot at making it again tomorrow!